In case I forget.


Tattle Tale
June 3, 2007, 11:43 pm
Filed under: Counselor A, Dr. Neuro B, Dr. PCP, Fear, Mental Health, RX

Because I always try to do what Dr. PCP says, I talked with Counselor A about cutting. She was so freaking irritating. “Do things to distract yourself!” “Write about it!” “Exercise!” “Play a game!”. What a lot of twaddle.

I told her that I’m just tired. I’m tired of being the strong one. I’m so tired of being on edge, waiting for the next bad news. I thought it would all be over. I thought if I put everything I had into rehab and making my body work again that it would be over. But it will never be over. Ever. And I just don’t think I can face that. I didn’t do anything wrong. In fact, I did everything right. And I’m stuck with this for the rest of my life.

When I went up to 700mg on the Lamictal like Dr. Neuro B told me to the burping started getting a little worse. Then when I went up to 800mg about 10 days ago it got really bad.  I mean almost as bad as it was when we started this whole thing what was it – more than a year ago? Gasping for breath, long, strong series. Totally demoralizing. I called his office and spoke with his nurse. Told her what was happening. She said he wanted a Lamictal serum level. So I went to Dr. PCP and he took the blood. That’s when I told him about the cutting. He sent me the results this past Tuesday and told me they were “normal”. The range is 2.0 – 20.o and I’m at 10.0. Seems normal to me, too!

But when I got a call back from Dr. Neuro B’s nurse she told me that he wants my level to be much higher, and said that I should go up to 900mg. NINEHUNDRED?? Holy frankincense I feel totally beat up. So now I’m taking more drugs. You should see the pile of pills I dump into my palm every morning and night. I feel like a freak.

I told Counselor A that I just couldn’t keep it up. That I was going to shut down as much as I can. I’m only going to do the things I absolutely have to do. She asked me what that included. I told her, I have to go to work. I have to take a bath. I have to have clean clothes. I have to drink and eat. That’s it. She kept urging me to do the things that used to give me joy. Creative things. Artistic things. I kept telling her I have no interest – have had no interest since the accident – in any of those things I used to enjoy. None. She went to far as to suggest that if I feel so compelled to cut that I might want to consider taking a break and go into a hospital. She laughed when she said it because she knew what my reaction would be.

I’m just so tired. I’m empty. I don’t have anything else to give. There is too much pain, too much hurt, too much bad news. That’s where the cutting comes in. When I told Counselor A a couple of weeks ago that I was thinking about it she suggested that I use ice instead. She said if I held a piece of ice to my skin that it would start to burn and the pain would be similar to the pain of cutting. When I left her office on Wednesday she asked if I had tried the ice. I told her “Yeah. It numbed the skin so the razor didn’t hurt as much.” I’m pretty sure that’s not the answer she was looking for.

She doesn’t get that it’s not the pain I’m after. I don’t like the pain. Pain is a big problem for me. Pain in my knees. Pain in my pelvis. Pain in my brain from just being overwhelmed and exhausted. I explained to her that the blood is very satisfying. I’ve found that watching it, soaking it up with a paper towel, pressing the wound to clot it, is a mesmerizing process. I told her that every day it helps me focus. It helps me put my mind in one place, instead of having it fly around to all the problems and pain. Every time I take a step I can feel the scabs rubbing against my thigh. Every time I cross my legs I can feel the pressure on the wounds. I can think just about that an nothing else. The focus is tremendous.

This past Wednesday when I was with Counselor A I had looked at the clock and could see that we had gone over my time. I said, “We’re done.” She looked confused. I pointed to the clock and said we’re past time. She got up and we left. On Friday it struck me that what I had said was true. We’re done. She can’t help me. It’s not her fault. I left her a voice mail early this morning telling her that I’m not going to be seeing her anymore for a while, that I’m not making any progress, that I am grateful for her time and concern, but that I need a break. Apparently she isn’t on the list of things I absolutely must do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

