In case I forget.


Well at least my garage is happy
March 4, 2007, 10:49 pm
Filed under: Mental Health, RX, Seizure

A couple of weeks into Cymbalta and the only thing I can say is that my garage is happy. I finally cleaned it out after about six months of accumulating crap in it. My husband is very happy. Somehow, it pleases me very much to sweep the garage clean. As for the anti-depression part, that hasn’t kicked in yet. But I don’t expect it to for a number of weeks of course. I’ve been the way I am for a long time so obviously I’m not in a big hurry.

There is good news on the seizure front. I think 600mg Lamictal is close to where I need to be. The burping has been significantly reduced. I am in the 10-15% range just about every day now, and haven’t had a long spell in a good while. Some days it is so good that when I do have a few burps it surprises me. On those days I am actually able to forget that I have this problem. I am looking forward to increasing to 700mg and hope that it will do the trick. Fingers crossed. I really don’t want to have a video EEG, and I don’t even want to talk about surgery.

Overall life doesn’t suck completely these days. My old boss is, in her words, “scheming” to get me on at least part time with her at her new school. Her plan is to get me on part-time and then let them see how “awesome” I am. Once they see how they can’t live without me they’ll find room in the budget to have me full time. She wants me as badly as I want her and that can’t help but make me feel great. It’s been hard to not be working. The laziness I love, but the total lack of structure I know isn’t good for my psychologically. And you know, MONEY would be nice. I’m not too far away from having to really start worrying about that.

So I have that to look forward to and also I have a camping trip to be excited about! We haven’t been camping for four years. The last trip we took, I was so sick we had to get up and leave in the middle of the night.  I had developed diabetes and it was raging out of control, but I didn’t know it. The next camping season we couldn’t get away, and then the next after that is when I was in a wheelchair from the accident. Since then there have been two more surgeries. The problem is I can get on the ground, but it is very painful to get up. I can’t kneel at all and any weight on my knees is very painful. So I developed a strategy. We bough one of those “4 minute mattresses” that blows up to about two feet tall. It is not only obscenely comfortable, but it is tall enough that I can stand up from it, which means I can go camping with it! We bought a nice big new tent so there is plenty of room for it, and we are going for a week at the end of the month. I am insanely excited. I love being in the woods and it has been way too long. Camping is something that being sick and injured has taken away from me. I am very happy to be reclaiming it.

I have a job interview tomorrow for a job I really don’t want but I’m going anyway. It isn’t so much that I don’t want the job, it’s that the office is near downtown and I don’t want a 30-45 minuted commute each way. But I have to go. I had gone on an interview a few weeks ago for another organization and, though they hired someone else, they were so impressed by me the wanted to pass along my resume, and they did. Which is how I ended up with this interview. So I feel obligated to go. I love the organization I just don’t want the commute. And of course if my old boss can get me on with her, there is no question of where I will work.

So fingers crossed that the Lamictal will continue to work and get better, fingers crossed that the Cymbalta will turn out to be a good choice. Fingers crossed that it doesn’t rain on the camping trip! Although I’m sure it will. It ALWAYS rains when we go camping.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I can relate to this!

“I finally cleaned it out after about six months of accumulating crap in it. My husband is very happy.”

Comment by Camping Gear




Leave a Reply

