In case I forget.


“So how long does it take for most people to get pissed at you?”
October 31, 2006, 11:37 pm
Filed under: Brain Bits, Dr. NeuroPsych A, Neuro

Today I had an interesting experience. I failed a test. Not something I’m used to doing. Oh yeah, sure, Dr. NeuroPsych A said I didn’t fail, that it’s not a pass/fail test but HEY I know what only getting 50% right means. It means I FAILED. Did not. Did so. Did not. Did so.

I took three neuropsych tests today. The first was the Trail Making Test. Apparently, I can draw lines OK.

The second was the Stroop. I did OK on the first part because blue means blue and green means green. On the second part, I slowed down like car with a clogged fuel pump. Green does not mean green. It could mean tan, or red, or freaking blue for chocolate’s sake. Dr. NeuroPsych A said I did OK but in my experience, 65% isn’t OK. It’s not even a “C”. Below average is not something I am comfortable with.

The third is when I hit it out of the park. The Wisconsin Card Sorting Test SUCKS. I got the first set no problem. The second set took me a while. After the third incontrovertible “INCORRECT” I said, “So how long does it take for most people to get pissed off at you?”. The third set was even worse, and by the fourth set I just gave up trying to figure out exactly how the tester was fucking with me and just went with color because everything else I tried didn’t work. So I came in at about 50% on that one.

The last time I failed a test was in 4th grade and that doesn’t freaking count, right?? What a frustrating day. I’m trying to look at this as progress – we now have some level of documentation that shows exactly where my shiny new neurological deficits are. And I guess that’s good, right? You can’t fix something if you don’t know what’s wrong, eh?

None the less, very frustrating. Dr. NeuroPsych A asked me if I wanted to throw something at the tester. I was very gracious and said “He didn’t design the test”. What she doesn’t know is that I came home and stuck pins in the voodoo doll with the new name of “TESTER”.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

