In case I forget.


Thinking about rebuilding
October 13, 2006, 11:29 pm
Filed under: Brain Bits, Dr. NeuroPsych A, Memory, Neuro

A report on Dr. NeuroPsych A.

A pretty darned positive experience. A striking physical environment, which I might tell you about later. For now, just imagine piles of papers and magazines and file cabinets. And bright colors. Like yellow. We talked for about two hours. It was a focused, good exchange of information.

She is of the school that believes the brain can regenerate connections that are damaged because of various events, including traumatic brain injuries. She’s been at it for many decades and I liked her. We’ll talk next week about neuropsych testing. It’s something I’ve been asked by many doctors, etc., since the accident but no one has said “do this”. I’ll talk with Dr. PCP about it before I do anything of course.

The most surprising and exciting thing about my time with her was when she said, “When you see Dr. Neuro B in November, please ask them for a release form so they will send me their records on you.”

I said I would and added, “The records I REALLY want are those from the injury – the transport, ER, surgery, and inpatient records.” She said that of course they’re mine for the asking. But – I told her that the hospitals charge a lot for those records – to patients and attorneys. But if a doctor is treating a patient for the problem the records pertain to, the hospital will fax them directly to that doctor for no charge.

She said, “Great. Let’s see if we can get them.” I signed the release and am excited at the prospect of reading this stuff. Like the pictures that came to me a few months ago that answered so many questions for me, and gave me so much perspective that I couldn’t have gotten any other way, these records hold the truth about a vital event in my life. They are the only source of this information and I am itchy at the thought that I might get them. The best part – I told her I wanted to read them, highlight them, and then have someone explain to me what I don’t understand. She patted my arm and said, “Let’s get them.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

